About Us

John Metcalf © Matthew Thistlewood / Tŷ Cerdd

Vale of Glamorgan Festival brings the best of contemporary and new classical music from living composers to adventurous audiences from across Wales and internationally. The annual festival takes place in May within various venues across South Wales.

Founded by Welsh composer John Metcalf in 1969 and celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2019, Vale of Glamorgan Festival has been passionately curating and presenting the best in contemporary classical music year after year. We want to share the joy of listening and discovery with audiences who long to experience the new and progressive, and we work with international composers that are pushing the boundaries to commission new music which reflects the classical music culture of today and tomorrow.

Vale of Glamorgan Festival has grown in the last 50 years to become one of the classical music world’s most pioneering and unique contemporary festivals. Artistic Director John Metcalf is a leading Welsh/Canadian composer producing works in many major musical forms, who has been dedicated to curating and commissioning boundary-pushing contemporary classical performances throughout the festival’s history. Past years have involved major celebrations of the work of international composers Arvo Pärt, Louis Andriessen and Steve Reich, who have been present at the festival enabling our audiences to hear direct from the composers what has inspired them.

“This wonderful festival has championed an enormous range of composers over the last fifty years, and I am very fortunate to have been one of them. It has cultivated a sympathetic and adventurous audience for new music in Wales, for which, as a composer, I am deeply grateful.” Huw Watkins


Artistic Director: John Metcalf
Producer: Donna Reeves
Marketing Consultant: John Holmes
Press Consultant: Hazel Hardy
Concerts Assistant: Tony Best


David Williams


David Lermon (Chair), Jennifer Hill, Michael Trickey, David Williams BEM

Advisory Board

Tracey Harding (Vale of Glamorgan Council), Deborah Keyser, Dr Robert Fokkens