7.30pm, Wednesday 15 September 2021

Online and radio broadcast from BBC Hoddinott Hall, Wales Millennium Centre

BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Geoffrey Paterson - conductor

Composer Piece Duration Listen
Pēteris Vasks Cantabile 8'
Guto Puw Utrasonic 7'
Sarah Jenkins Trallali, Trallaley, Trallalera 8'
Judith Weir I Give You the End of a Golden String 16'
John Metcalf Dances From Forgotten Places 7'


Our annual concert with BBC National Orchestra of Wales brings together music by all five of this year’s featured composers. Like previous collaborations, it is rich in variety and shows the dynamism and thrill of hearing music by living composers from Wales and beyond. 

John Metcalf’s Dances from Forgotten Places is a much more personal piece, in part celebrating the inspiration and support of friendship. Each of this collection of six dances – five fast and one slow – is dedicated to one of the composer’s friends and reflective of their personalities.

BBC National Orchestra of Wales is conducted by contemporary music expert Geoffrey Paterson, who is at home working with music as diverse as Steve Reich and West Side Story.

Interval talk – Judith Weir and Rian Evans

We will not be making any charge for the 2021 performances but encourage you to support the festival’s artists and future by making a donation. Thank you in advance for this much needed support. Please go to our Virgin Money Giving page.