Apollon Musagète Quartet

Photo: Marco Borggreve

Wednesday 24 May, 7.30pm

Penarth Pier Pavilion

Composer Piece Duration Listen
Krzysztof Penderecki String Quartet No. 3 - Leaves of an unwritten diary 25'
AMQ Multitude 6'
John Adams Book of Alleged Dances 35'

Since their debut six years ago, this young, award-winning string quartet from Poland has been captivating audiences with their energy and conviction.  Alongside their own devised work, Multitude they perform two works inspired by dance rhythms:  Penderecki’s roller-coaster ride of waltzes and gypsy melodies, and John Adams’s lively fusion of bluegrass, jazz, habanera and Latin sounds for his joyous set of dances.


3.30pm          Pre-concert Walk             Meet at Penarth Pier

Free accompanied walk around Penarth in the company of the Vale of Glamorgan Walking Festival.  The walk lasts 1½ hours at a slow to moderate pace.


6.30pm          Pre-concert Talk                Penarth Pier

Keith Potter introduces the music of John Adams