Robin Green & Mei Yi Foo

Photo: Kaupo Kikkas

Saturday 20 May 2017, 2.30pm

All Saints Church, Penarth

John Adams: The Complete Piano Works

Composer Piece Duration Listen
John Adams Phrygian Gates 22'
John Adams Hallelujah Junction 17'
John Adams China Gates 5'
John Adams American Beserk 6'
John Adams Roll Over Beethoven
arr Preben Antonson
UK Premiere

John Adams occupies a unique place in the world of American music.  From Beethoven to boogie woogie, he has probably drawn on more sources than any major composer working today.  Spanning over 30 years, his piano works are by turns punchy and exuberant, ethereal and trance like – radiating a spectrum of colours and moods.  They provide a perfect vehicle to display the virtuoso skills of pianists Robin Green and Mei yi Foo.

This concert will include an extended interval during which light refreshments (included in the ticket price) will be served