BBC National Orchestra of Wales

Friday 26 May, 7.30pm

Hoddinott Hall, Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff CF10 5AL

Tecwyn Evans (conductor)
Paul Watkins (cello)
Sophie Westbrooke (recorder)
Apollon Musagète Quartet

Composer Piece Duration Listen
John Adams The Chairman Dances 12'
Huw Watkins Cello Concerto 20'
Graham Fitkin Recorder Concerto
World premiere
Commissioned by Evelyn Nallen and Barbara Law, assisted by generous donations from the Society of Recorder Players and its members, and the Vale of Glamorgan (with funds provided by The Hinrichsen Foundation)
John Adams Absolute Jest 25'

Our final concert features two old friends of the festival:  Huw Watkins’s deeply expressive concerto, written for his brother Paul and a new work from Graham Fitkin which combines an intriguing mix of orchestra with amplified recorder.  To round off, John Adams’s Absolute Jest, described by Musical America as “a gripping 25-minute sonic joy ride… You can hear the echoes of Beethoven throughout the piece – chopped, remixed, inside out and upside down …  and you can almost see the composer smiling at the results”.

Graham Fitkin’s concerto is a co-commission by the Vale of Glamorgan Festival (with funds made available by the Hinrichsen Foundation) and the Society of Recorder Players


3pm                Pre-concert Walk                               Meet at the Norwegian Church

Free accompanied walk across the Cardiff Barrage in the company of the Vale of Glamorgan Walking Festival.  The walk lasts 1½ hours at a slow to moderate pace.

6.15pm          Meet the Artists                                Hoddinott Hall

Stephen Walsh in conversation with Graham Fitkin, Huw Watkins and Sophie Westbrooke