Fruits of Silence

7.30pm, Tuesday 14 September 2021

Online broadcast from Cardiff University Concert Hall

Solem Quartet
Siwan Rhys - piano

Composer Piece Duration Listen
Pēteris Vasks String Quartet no. 1 15'
John Metcalf Towards Silence
exclusive preview of new quartet
Guto Puw String Quartet no. 1: Your Paths Overflow with Plenty 23'
Sarah Jenkins The Lake Isle of Innisfree
with piano
Pēteris Vasks The Fruit of Silence
with piano

This concert will be streamed live on the Vale of Glamorgan Festival YouTube channel.

The variety and breadth of music in this year’s Festival is epitomised in this concert, which showcases work by four of our Featured Composers.

Solem Quartet are joined by dynamic Welsh pianist Siwan Rhys, who enlivened our 2020 Festival At Home with her performances as part of GBSR duo.

Two contrasting pieces by Pēteris Vasks bookend the concert. His String Quartet No 1 dates back to 1977 and reflects anger at Soviet oppression of his Latvian homeland. The piano quintet version of The Fruit of Silence, meanwhile, is a gentle piece inspired by Mother Teresa’s words, “The fruit of silence is prayer”.

In between, enjoy new or recent works by three leading Welsh composers. 

Sarah Jenkins takes inspiration from WB Yeats’ poem The Lake Isle of Innisfree, a romantic portrait of retreating to a cabin in the wild. 

Solem Quartet are already familiar with Guto Puw’s first String Quartet – they premiered it during the online Bangor Music Festival in March this year.

Also hear an exclusive preview of a new String Quartet by our Artistic Director John Metcalf, a musical journey of the Winter just past.

Pre-concert talk – 7.10pm – Sarah Jenkins, John Metcalf, Guto Puw, Steph Power.

We will not be making any charge for the 2021 performances but encourage you to support the festival’s artists and future by making a donation. Thank you in advance for this much needed support. Please go to our Virgin Money Giving page.


Fidelio Charitable Trust