Pēteris Vasks: String Quartets

7pm, Monday 13 September 2021

Online broadcast from Cardiff University Concert Hall

Solem Quartet

Composer Piece Duration Listen
Pēteris Vasks String Quartet no. 2, Summer Tunes 25'
Pēteris Vasks String Quartet no. 4 35'

Featured artists Solem Quartet provide the perfect introduction to one of the world’s most prolific and influential living composers, Pēteris Vasks, in his 75h birthday year.

We’ve had a long relationship with the Latvian, who was Composer in Residence at the Festival back in 2006 and featured heavily in our seasons celebrating music from the Baltic States.

Vasks is mindful of the natural world and the environment. He has said, “I experience God and pray to him in the forest, on the seashore, everywhere, because the world as God created it is so beautiful.” This is clearly heard in his ethereal and meditative music. His String Quartet No.2, written in 1984 and titled ‘Summer Tunes’, epitomises this focus.

This concert will be streamed live on the Vale of Glamorgan Festival YouTube channel.