Sinfonia Cymru: Enchant

4pm, Sunday 12 September 2021

Online broadcast from Chapter

Sinfonia Cymru

Composer Piece Duration Listen
Anna Meredith Charged
Errollyn Wallen Dervish
cello & piano
Steve Reich Cello Counterpoint
cello & tape
Errollyn Wallen Louis' Loops
toy piano
Anna Clyne Rapture
clarinet & tape
Anna Clyne Just as they are
piano, violin, cello, clarinet, flute
Laurence Crane Raimondas Rumsas
Anna Clyne 1987
bass flute, bass clarinet, violin, cello, tape
Aaron Parker Sirrantung
full ensemble, processed sounds, narration and visuals

We’ve teamed up with the UK’s leading under 30s orchestra for a tour of awe-inspiring music by living composers from the early 2000s to the present day.

The concert has been curated by Stephanie Tress of Solem Quartet for Sinfonia Cymru and Vale of Glamorgan Festival. 

An eclectic selection of short pieces reflects some of the intense and conflicting emotions present in the world since the pandemic began last March.

Stephanie has focused on contemporary composers with diverse influences, including three pieces from Grammy Award-nominated Anna Clyne, whose music combines orchestral instruments and electronic sounds. 

The concert ends with Aaron Parker’s mournful Sirrantung, a piece brought to life by narration and film projected behind the performers.

This selection of short pieces is the perfect way to jump start this year’s Festival.